The Online System & the Three Programs

Express Entry is an online system that Immigration, Refugee, Citizenship Canada (IRCC) uses to manage applications for permanent residence from skilled workers.  

IRCC chooses skilled workers based on their skills and ability to contribute to Canada’s economy.

Express Entry manages applications for three economic immigration programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program

  • Federal Skilled Trades Program

  • Canadian Experience Class

Provinces and territories can also recruit candidates from the Express Entry pool through the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) to meet local labour market needs.

The Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) is the points-based system IRCC uses to assess and score applicants’ profiles and rank applicants in the Express Entry pool.

The points an applicant gets from the CRS include a core set of points up to 600 and a set of additional points of up to 600. Total score will be out of 1,200.

Core: Up to 600 points
    1. Skills and experience factors

    2. Spouse or common-law partner factors, such as their language skills and education

    3. Skills transferability, including education and work experience

Additional: Up to 600 points
    1. Canadian degrees, diplomas or certificates

    2. a valid job offer

    3. a nomination from a province or territory

    4. a brother or sister living in Canada who is a citizen or permanent resident

    5. strong French language skills

Core points + Additional points = your total score